Auditions for the Utah Symphony Chorus will take place July 11, 12 and 13 for the 2014-2015 Season.

Chorus rehearsals are every Tuesday evenings from 7pm to 9:30pm beginning in September, with a greater time commitment during performance weeks. Next year’s exciting choral repertoire includes Handel’s Messiah; Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, “Choral”; Mahler’s Symphony No. 3 (Women only); and Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloe.

Please come prepared to sing a short piece of your choosing from the Classical or Musical Theatre tradition. An accompanist will be provided. Contact Cassandra Dozet at cdozet@usuo.org to schedule an audition.


Utah Symphony Chorus


Laura Bennett-Murphy, Stephanie Bradshaw, Anadine Burrell, Andrea Cooper, Emily Dages, KayLynne Fox, Natalie Huntington, Jeanne Kelly, Cecily Kennedy, Kristin Kinippenberg, Bryn McDougal, Kimberly S. Metcalfe, Jennifer Morrison, Alyssa Powers, Keri Hains Riker, Karem Y. Ryker, Sheri Greene Sain, Norma F. Sonntag, Emily Thorne, Dawn Veree Marshall, Amanda Watson, Christina Wolf


Jessica Benson, Joan Jensen Bowles, Susan Fazio, Kate Fitzgerald, Jeanne Leigh Goldstein, Marilyn Kay Heightman, Renee Hunter, Martha Lauritzen, Nancy B. Matro, Jamie McDonald Kamm, Susan Moore, Marcia Morgan, Kris Motta, Rebecca Nelson, Victoria Norton-Strong, Cheryl Ann Palmer, Patricia A. Richards, Ruth Rogers, Rebecca Strand Russon, Carolee R. Schofield, Mary Sorenson, Jennifer Tanner, Michele Tyler, Erin Weist, Ruth Wortley


Jerry Ball, Timothy R. Coleman, Benjamin Ebel, Vince Huntington, John T. Jorgensen, Phillip A. Lammi, Peter R. MacKinnon, Nathan Moulton, Lo Nestman, Glenn D. Prestwich, Michael Renehan, Kevin S. Rowe, Richard Stephenson, Scott Tarbett, Peter Tang


Jon Burton, Briant R. Carter, Steven DiTomaso, David A. Ebert, Stephen Fife, Rulon K. Galloway, Tanner Gilgen, Merlyn R. Hanks, Jerry Hatch, Grant Hodson, Randy Hunter, Michael Hurst, James Marshall, Steven McGregor, Jonathan Morris, Thomas Paul Morris, Mark J. Morrise, Harold Nufer, Ryan Oldroyd, Doug Pike, Michael Provard, Richard K. Rathbun, Kyle Ross-Hall, Dee Russell, Karl Snow, Jeff Stevens, Wayne Van Tassell

Barlow Bradford


Dr. Bradford was appointed Director of the Utah Symphony Chorus at the start of the 2013-2014 season. Over the course of his musical career, Bradford has distinguished himself as a conductor, composer, arranger, pianist, organist, and teacher. As an orchestral and choral conductor, he co-founded the Utah Chamber Artists in 1991 and has led that organization to international acclaim for its impeccable, nuanced performances and award-winning recordings. Dr. Bradford's focused, energetic conducting style led to his appointment as Music Director of the Orchestra at Temple Square in Salt Lake City and Associate Director of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Prior to that, he was Director of Orchestras at the University of Utah.

His compositions and arrangements have garnered much attention for their innovation and dramatic scope, from delicate, transparent intimacy to epic grandeur. Arrangements by Bradford have been performed/recorded by the Cleveland Orchestra, San Francisco Symphony, Dallas Symphony, Tucson Symphony Orchestra, New York Choral Artists, Seattle Pacific University, Baylor University, Mormon Tabernacle Choir/Orchestra at Temple Square, Newfoundland Festival 500, and the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus, among others.   

In addition to his post as Director of the Utah Symphony Chorus, Dr. Bradford continues as Artistic Director of Utah Chamber Artists and serves as the Ellen Neilson Barnes Presidential Chair of Choral Studies at the University of Utah.


Shortly after Maurice Abravanel began his famed association with the Utah Symphony, he set about finding a group of singers that could undertake the great choral masterworks with the orchestra. Abravanel turned to the University of Utah and Music Department Chairman President Leroy J. Robertson, who agreed to let Abravanel use the University's choirs to combine forces and perform with the Symphony. Their first joint venture was Beethoven's Ninth Symphony, performed on March 13, 1948 in the Salt Lake Tabernacle, with choirs prepared by John Marlowe Nielson. Six decades and a wealth of the world's greatest choral music later, we embrace the future and our great associations with Symphony Music Director Thierry Fischer, and the orchestra.

Over the years, the name of the Chorus has changed from The University Chorale to The University Civic Chorale, The Utah Chorale, and finally the Utah Symphony Chorus. John Marlowe Nielson (1948-1962) was succeeded by Dr. Newell B. Weight (1962-1982) as Music Director of the Chorus, followed by Dr. Edgar J. Thompson (1982-2003), Dr. Susanne Sheston (2004-2013) and Dr. Barlow Bradford (2013-present). The chorus has sung under the baton of Utah Symphony Music Directors Maurice Abravanel, Varujan Kojian, Joseph Silverstein, Keith Lockhart and Thierry Fischer, as well as numerous guest conductors including Robert Shaw, Margaret Hillis, Roger Wagner, Peter Eros, Bernard Labadie, Andrew Litton, Stanisław Skrowaczewski and many others.

The Utah Symphony Chorus is comprised of volunteers from the community who come from all walks of life.  The Chorus performs several concerts each season with the Utah Symphony, including choral masterworks, pops concerts and our annual audience-participation Messiah Sing-In. All chorus rehearsals take place during evening hours once a week, with added rehearsals during performance weeks. There is no time limit for years of service in the chorus, though members periodically re-audition for membership.

We're proud to continue providing outstanding music to the communities of Utah and beyond, and as always, to be the voice of the Utah Symphony!