Mozart & Berlioz

Published in Masterworks

April 26-27 | 8 PM Abravanel Hall

Thierry Fischer, Conductor
Yu Kosuge, Piano

Holt - Ellsworth 2
Mozart - Concerto No. 24 in C minor for Piano and Orchestra
Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique

Witness one of the strangest musical love notes ever written. Berlioz had it bad for Harriet Smithson, an Irish Shakespearean actress whom he would later briefly marry. He captured his "endless passion" for her in a wildly imaginative Fantastic Symphony that takes the listener on a fictional journey through sumptuous reveries and drug-induced dreams that lead ultimately to a death by beheading. Passion indeed! Nothing quite like it had ever been heard before. This exciting program also includes a mature concerto by Mozart and a world premiere by Englishman composer Simon Holt.

Additional Info

  • Event Tickets:

    April 26 - Buy Tickets

    April 27 - Buy Tickets

  • Under 30 Tickets:

    Youth in grades 2– 12 (age 8 and older) can enjoy this Utah Symphony performance for $10. Click here for details on youth tickets.

    If you are 30 or younger, discounted tickets are available for this performance through USUO's Upbeat program. Click here for details on Upbeat.

  • Artist Profile:

    Yu Kosuge has been giving recitals and performing with orchestras since early childhood. At the age of nine she made her debut with the Tokyo New City Orchestra.  In 1993, she moved to Europe to continue her in Hannover and Salzburg, and in recent years has received great support and inspiration from András Schiff. 

    Yu Kosuge appears at the most important venues in Berlin, Hamburg, Köln, Munich, Vienna, Salzburg, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Zurich, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Tokyo, Washington and New York. Her Carnegie Hall debut recital met with outstanding success with critics praising her “acutely poetic sensibility…wit, drama, and effulgent lyricism.”

    Recent highlights include performing at the Salzburg Festival with Philippe Herreweghe and Camerata Salzburg, performances in La Roque d’Anthéron with Jacek Kaspszyk/Sinfonia Varsovia, the Japanese premiere of Tan Dun’s Piano Concerto ‘Fire’ with the NHK Symphony Orchestra under the baton of the composer in Japan and a tour with the NDR Hannover Radio SO under Eiji Oue.

    As well as regular performances in Asia with the Singapore Symphony and all the major Japanese orchestras, Yu Kosuge has worked with many of the leading European orchestras including the NDR Symphony Orchestra Hamburg, NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, Berliner Sinfonie Orchester, Radio-Sinfonie Orchester Frankfurt, Camerata Salzburg, St Petersburg Symphony, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France and Radio Symphony Orchestra Finland,. Yu Kosuge has performed with conductors of the stature of Seiji Ozawa, Jun Märkl, Philippe Herreweghe, Rudolf Barschai, Alexander Dmitriev, Gerd Albrecht, Lawrence Foster, Sakari Oramo, Christian Arming, Yutaka Sado, Osmo Vänskä,  Vasili Petrenko  and Dennis Russell Davies.

    She has been invited to festivals in Rheingau, Schleswig-Holstein, Bremen, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Passau, Braunschweig, Kissingen, at the Salzburger Festspiele, Mozartwoche Salzburg, Holland Music Festival, Piano Festival Lille, La Roque d’Anthéron piano festival and La Folle Journée de Nantes, France.

    In addition to her busy concert schedule in Europe, Yu performs regularly in Japan, where her tours with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Sakari Oramo, Seiji Ozawa and the New Japan Philharmonic inspired rave reviews and great public acclaim.

    Yu Kosuge lives in Munich.

  • Program:

    Mozart - Concerto No. 24 in C Minor for Piano and Orchestra, K. 491
                      I. Allegro
                      II. Larghetto
                      III. Allegretto
    Holt - Ellsworth 2
    Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique, op. 14
                     I. Reveries and Passions: Largo - Allegro agitato e appassionato assai
                     II. A Ball: Waltz - Allegro non troppo
                     III. In the Country: Adagio
                     IV. March to the Scaffold: Allegretto non troppo
                     V. Dream of the Witches' Sabbath: Larghetto - Allegro

  • Program Notes:

    Mozart - Concerto No. 24 in C Minor for Piano and Orchestra, K. 491
    Holt - Ellsworth 2
    Berlioz - Symphonie fantastique, op. 14