Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2

Location: Abravanel Hall
Price Range: $18.00 - $84.00
Duration: approximately 2 hours including intermission

Friday, March 25, 2016 | 7:30 PM    Find Tickets
Saturday, March 26, 2016 | 7:30 PM    Find Tickets


Robert Spano, conductor
George Li, piano
Utah Symphony Orchestra

Program To Include

WAGNER “Good Friday Spell” from Parsifal
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 2
RESPIGHI Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI Pines of Rome

You’ll recognize Rachmaninoff’s concerto from its use in iconic films including The Seven Year Itch and Clint Eastwood’s Hereafter. Now explore the depths of the piece as you only can when it’s experienced live.

Note: It is with great regret that pianist Kirill Gerstein must cancel his appearance with the Utah Symphony on March 25 and 26. He and his wife are expecting their second child anytime between the middle and the end of March and he understandably wants to be home in Berlin for the birth. George Li, silver medalist in the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition, will perform Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in his place.


Richard Wagner (1813 — 1883): "Good Friday Spell" from Parsifal (arr. Hutschenruyter)
The bicentennial of Richard Wagner’s birth occurred in 2013, providing another reason for the music world to reflect on the revolutionary impact of Wagner’s genius. Not that we are ever far from experiencing the effects of Wagner’s achievements. By the time he finished composing Parsifal, only about a year before his death at age 70, Wagner’s thinking on aesthetics... SEE MORE 

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 — 1943): Concerto No. 2 in C minor for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 18 
Though he was born before the last quarter of the 19th century began, Rachmaninoff was essentially a figure of the 20th century. Still, we can call him the last of the Russian Romantics; his sound was rooted in the 1800s and in the Russian nationalist composers dating back to Glinka and Tchaikovsky. He was also one of the greatest pianists of his day, and perhaps one of the greatest ever....SEE MORE

 Ottorino Respighi (1879 — 1936): Le fontane di Roma (The Fountains of Rome) 
Born in 1879, the Bolognese master Ottorino Respighi lived most of his life in the 20th century (he died in 1936). But in the charm and tonal elegance of his music we can hear 19th- and 20th-century esthetics colored by his infatuation with earlier days: music of the late renaissance and early baroque periods, from the 16th through the 18th centuries...SEE MORE

Ottorino Respighi (1879 — 1936): I pini di Roma (The Pines of Rome)
I pini di Roma, “The Pines of Rome,” is the second of the orchestral suites that comprise Ottorino Respighi's popular "Roman Triptych," which also includes Le fontane di Roma, and Feste Romane (“Roman Festivals"). All three showcase his gift for creating music that seems vividly and specifically visual, a goal sought by many of the baroque composers he so admired...SEE MORE


Artist Profile


Concert Sponsors:

Healthcare Night & Nora Eccles Treadwell Foundation

Conductor Sponsor:

Miller Family Foundation